Which Media Space are you in?

One hour before my scheduled call to my parents at home.

I am so close to my parents that sharing stories about our days at school and at work becomes a daily routine of the family. Since I came to Australia to study, we (my parents and me) have been using Facetime as a main mean to communicate to each other and keep up with our sharing habit. In an hour we will be finishing with what we are doing right now and starting to talk to each other. Thinking about the call (using video calls on Facetime or sometimes Facebook Messenger – my parents always want to see me through the camera screen to make sure I’m not gaining weights), I recognise how interesting it is living in the same media space while at different places in the world.

One hour before my scheduled call to my parents at home and yes, I am sitting here in my little room talking about space, particularly media space.

Space, well firstly let me make it clear, I’m not talking about the space which is “everything beyond the top of the Earth’s atmosphere” (Tate 2015) like scientists are defining it. Space here, as from my point of view, is where we are living in between, having our daily activities happening and networking with each other. Media space, similarly, contains either the interconnectedness between people through different media platforms without them staying in same physical places or the interactions between people and the media. Taking the Facetime call back home as an instance, it appears to be much more interesting when thinking about how media space varies. There are my parents in Vietnam, in their living room with the television is on (my mom is watching a drama series on TV but still has her ears on every word I say) and an iPad to Facetime with me at real-time. And then there is me living in the other continent, sitting on my bed covered with red, with an iPod nearby playing some classical music online and my little mobile phone not far away from my reach for me to (sometimes) checking on Facebook and Instagram.

family-in-living-room-woman-using-laptop-man-watching-tv-2-teens-using-abhjet

Media Space – not only this…

Clearly, my parents and I are living in two separate media space. We’re covered around by different media forms that we feel comfortable with. Nevertheless, we, from another perspective, do live the same experience within a similar media space when we call each other through an intermediate media channel – Facetime. The term of ‘media space’ now covers not only the physical space where people interact directly with the media, but also the media itself that creates users a space to live parts of their lives online. This online media space allows people to, somehow, share the same media experience by watching and listening to the same thing, or even feeling the same way while staying in different physical places. Those mediums which satisfy that type of experience can be considered as ‘media space’. For example, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc. are all media spaces that allow selves to portray their characteristics online and live with the experiences they feel comfortable with (for instance following the ones that they like, watching the news/videos they want and interacting with people they feel they need to).

course__courses_socialmedialearning__course-landing-still-1472528452-8

… but this also

No matter how ‘media space’ is defined, it is more important to think that wherever and/or whenever people feel comfortable with the media they’re using, a related ‘media space’ is created.

 

 

REFERENCE LIST

Tate, J 2015, What is space?, Universe Today – Space and Astronomy News, 24 December, viewed 29 July 2017, <https://www.universetoday.com/57734/what-is-space/&gt;.

Photo 1: https://www.google.com.au/search?biw=1920&bih=974&tbm=isch&sa=1&q=tv+laptop+mobile+phone+&oq=tv+laptop+mobile+phone+&gs_l=psy-ab.3…21694.26916.0.27097.23.21.0.0.0.0.218.2571.0j14j2.16.0&#8230;.0…1.1.64.psy-ab..7.11.1646…0j0i67k1j0i30k1j0i8i30k1.R_nACWhuGyI#imgrc=yKvBqJHR7eh0OM:

Photo 2: https://www.google.com.au/search?biw=1920&bih=974&tbm=isch&sa=1&q=social+media+&oq=social+media+&gs_l=psy-ab.3..0i67k1l2j0l2.276065.279920.0.280061.28.18.4.0.0.0.263.2284.0j7j5.12.0….0…1.1.64.psy-ab..13.15.2141.qUGcDKOveOo#imgrc=jFFcBA9rlllIZM:

 

 

Nhi Nguyen

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

