Research Annotated Bibliography – Research Methods & Why Am I Using Them –

In order to make sure that my research is conducted in an efficient way, I have gone through an amount of reliable reading sources about the methods I am going to use. Below is the bibliography about the good sources I have used during my research.

keep-calm-it-s-reading-time

Source: Google 

Stumm, SV, Hell, B & Chamorro-Premuzic, T 2011, ‘The Hungry Mind: Intellectual Curiosity Is the Third Pillar of Academic Performance’, Perspectives on Psychological Science, vol. 6, no. 6, pp. 574-588.

In the first week of the lectures, the lecturer has mentioned about how curiosity important to good researchers in particular, and learners in general. This has drawn me into serious thinking about the importance of curiosity and how it links to ones’ academic performance. I found the journal article a good source as it not only mentions a broader definition of curiosity and academic performance models, but also the types of good curiosity and why we need them in developing our critical thinking. At the first point, it was stressful finding out a topic for the research project. As you do not want to choose the wrong topic and go along with something you have no interest in for the whole session. Then I went through the reading and recognised that I just need to keep up with something simple, something that I am always wondering and asking myself – my curiosity. And it works. It makes my brainstorming step easier as the topic I have chosen is something that I actually care about. This also gives me the drive to know, the enthusiast to keep up with the project. I then think the research is not that complicated, it is simple as finding out an answer for something I curious about.

 

Charlesworth, A, Doing Research: Planning, Risk and Reflection, University of Bristol, viewed 8 April 2017, <https://www.cs.bris.ac.uk/Teaching/learning/how-to-lectures/planning-risk-reflection.pdf>.

I have never thought of the extreme need to have a risk matrix while planning the research. But as every project carries a degree of risk and it is better to avoid them before they appear, it is not a bad idea to stating out the risks. The reading shows me the essential of designing a risk matrix and useful steps to figure the risks out. I then began to draw a risk matrix for my project. Surprisingly, more risks tend to happen than I can even imagine. For example, I knew that procrastination is a type of risk but when I actually planned it out on paper, it became the most serious and easy-to-happen one that could bring the research to the point that it cannot be finished on time. A risk matrix helps me keep an eye on what can happen, how long will it take, how it will affect my research performance and what can be done about it. I even have my matrix written down on paper so that every time I carry on with the research, I can easily prepare myself of possible distractions.

 

Nishadha 2012, 5 Reasons to Use Gantt Chart, Creately blog post, 13 June, viewed 10 April 2017, <http://creately.com/blog/diagrams/5-reasons-to-use-gantt-charts/>.

For anyone (like me) who are confused what Gantt Chart is, this blog post explains everything we need to know about using Gantt Chart. There are variety ways to manage a project, but Gantt chart is now using by most of the companies in order to increase their productivity, communication efficiency and track long term projects’ results. I used to think that the chart does not help as outlining the activities and time frames is one thing, but keeping ourselves to that schedule is a different thing. However, as I go along with the project, I understand that if I do not follow what I have planned out, everything will become a mess at the end, I will not have enough time for tasks and this badly affects the research’s result. Also, as procrastination is my biggest university problem, I think this chart helps me a lot in keeping myself on track. Nevertheless, one thing that we need to be careful. That is there will be some points we forgot to mention at the beginning or any sudden steps arise in the middle that can affect the whole planned progress.

 

California State University, Chico 2010, Evaluating Information – Applying the CRAAP Test, Meriam Library – California State University, Chico, viewed 12 April 2017, <http://www.csuchico.edu/lins/handouts/eval_websites.pdf>.

A successful research project is the one that consists of different perspectives conducting through a number of findings. Surveys and/or interviews’ analysis only are not enough to make up a persuasive research. Extra readings and findings are crucial. I found that previous academic works on the similar issue are useful as they provided the foundation ideas and brief understanding. But as there are waves of information, how do we know what the good sources are? The online handout by California State University mentioned an effective procedure to evaluate information using the CRAAP test. This test is a guideline that makes sure the information we used is accurate and objective. Now every time I decide to use a piece of information, I have to make sure that it meets all the criteria in CRAAP test so that my research is truthful and reliable.

 

MEAA Journalist Code of Ethics 1994, Media Alliance Code of Ethics, viewed 12 April 2017, <http://www.abc.net.au/mediawatch/transcripts/0921_meaaethics.pdf>.

I chose interview as an approach to conducting my research result. Dealing with the personal information given by the interviewees require me to have a proper understanding of the code of ethics. It is extremely crucial to respect others’ rights and privacy but at the same time essential to keep the interview effective. The code of ethics provides me with knowledge on what can and cannot be done when using personal information for academic works. From my perspective, preparing ourselves with an in-depth understanding of ethical issues is the foundation for us to become good and objective researchers in the future and help avoid unexpected problems due to breaching others’ consent. As we may not always be aware of infringing upon people’s rights when asking their information for research analysis, follow the code of ethics is a good way to know what are the right things to do.

 

Bunting, J 2011, Six Ways to Ask Better Questions in Interviews, The Write Practice Blog Post, 22 September, viewed 18 April 2017, <http://thewritepractice.com/six-ways-to-ask-better-questions-in-interviews/>.

After doing some interviews, I know they are not easy. I have read a lot of documents on how to ask good interview questions but they mention a lot of theories instead of practical approaches. I found the blog post above a very good source as it mentioned some very simple but effective rules to follow during a real interview. Every interviewee has their own stories to tell and listen to their stories, break the limitations are what good researchers do to get along well during interviews. There is one thing that I am interested in. That is although I prepared the questions before the interviews, when it comes to the actual situation when I sat down, listened to my interviewees telling their stories, I had a lot of extra things to ask and not surprisingly, I had more far-from-expectation information in hands. Rather than tell us how to prepare good interview questions, the blog shows how to perform well and ask the right questions during a particular interview situation.

Nhi Nguyen

Leave a Reply

