What – Which – When – Who – How? Are we asking enough questions?

It’s 10.30 o’clock in the evening and I’m in my room while typing these sentences and serving myself a dish full of Japanese vegetable tempura and teriyaki chicken. I’m sure if my mom is here with me, she will complain about me putting inside my body too much calories at night so that I’ll easily gain weight but at the same time, asking herself how people make these wonderful dishes. She loves cooking and she’s curious about meal recipes around the world. And with no doubt, she’s a good cook and her restaurant attracts more than 500 customers everyday.

My father’s friend’s daughter is a five-year-old girl. She loves playing around with me. But sometimes I’m afraid of meeting this little kid as she’s always asking things and there are a lot of her questions that I don’t even have a clue what the answer is. She’s curious about the world around her. By asking things, she knows more than any other of her friends and she’s happy as her teacher calls her ‘an alive dictionary’. And by running around finding answers for her questions, my knowledge grows unexpectedly. I can’t believe I may one day know the world’s biggest kind of cockcroaches is 9cm long and weigh over 30gr.

I used to be a writer for my high school magazine. I had applied for that position 3 times and only got it when I was in my last year of high school, which is the fourth time to be correct. The first three times I told stories – stories from my imagination and they didn’t get through. Then I thought of ‘Why? What’re they looking for? What do they expect from students’ works? What do I need to do to get my story a recognition?’. By asking these questions and on the way finding out my answers, I knew exactly what to do to with my work. They needed reality in every story students told so that people would easily empathize and remember. Then I created a work that met their expectations and got the job in only 2 days.

83d17afdc55389467b1915cf987b8d7372d490b3c293d22928044f9d1369b1e5

Why I’m telling these stories?

Because all of them have a similarity – they’re talking about how curiosity brings you success (more than you can even imagine). Curiosity – “a state of active interest or genuinely wanting to know more about something”, will give you the ability to “embrace unfamiliar circumstances, giving you a greater opportunity to experience discovery and joy.” (Lachlan 2015). There’s no doubt when saying curiosity brings you a better life and better results in everything you do. Todd’s blog post (2010) has pointed out that curiosity has the power of making us feel alive and more engaged. It enhances our well-being in five different ways namely health, intelligence, social relationships, happiness and meaning.

So, if we think of our lives as a toolbox, curiosity will be the most useful tool that you ever have in your lifetime. When your brain is curious about something, it’s working. Thinking makes our bodies work. We normally feel tired when we do nothing. Always asking about things is an effective way to make sure your mind and body are working together and create us an energetic and happy life.

 

Be curious.

It’s good though.

 

REFERENCE LIST

Lachlan, B 2015, The Importance of Developing Curiosity, World of Psychology, 26 May, viewed 4 March 2017, <https://psychcentral.com/blog/archives/2015/05/26/the-importance-of-developing-curiosity/>

Todd, K 2010, The Power of Curiosity, Curious? Discover the Missing Ingredient to a Fulfilling Life, May 2010, viewed 4 March 2017, <https://experiencelife.com/article/the-power-of-curiosity/>

 

 

 

Nhi Nguyen

Leave a Reply

